ADMINISTRATIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 25, 2005 Wednesday, 3:00 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

MEMBERS ABSENT

David McLawhorn
Wesley Beddard
Carrie Peed, SGA Representative
Judy Jennette
Phillip Price
Sandra Sauve'
Almeta Woolard
Debra Baker

Dorie Richter Clay Carter Chet Jarman

The Administrative Council met at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 25, 2005, in the Conference Room of Bldg. 1. Dr. McLawhorn called the meeting to order and addressed agenda items as follows:

I. Approval of April 25, 2005 Minutes

The minutes of the April 25, 2005, meeting were presented for approval. A motion was made by Sandra Sauve', seconded by Debra Baker, to accept the minutes as presented. The minutes were approved unanimously by the Council. (See minutes on the CampusNet under Committees & Minutes link.)

II. Old Business

A previously tabled item, an admission policy for undocumented aliens, was discussed. This item is still being discussed in the State legislature. Currently, an undocumented individual can be admitted to BCCC, and the Council decided to wait for more direction from the State Board of Community Colleges before adopting any written policy.

III. New Business

Phillip Price submitted a Whistle Blower Policy for approval. The Foundation Board had indicated a legal requirement for this policy. Mr. Price and the Foundation Director had obtained samples from David Sullivan's office with NCCCS and also from the private sector. Through the combined efforts of Phillip Price and Judy Jennette, the policy as submitted was written. Mr. Price stated that the following changes should be made to the policy presented: The Chairman of the Board of Trustees should replace any and all occurrences of the President, and the President of the Foundation Board should replace any and all occurrences of the Executive Director. Mr. Price made a motion to approve the policy with the stated changes and Wesley Beddard seconded the motion. The Council voted unanimous consent to the motion.

Dr. McLawhorn explained the requested revision to the Educational Leave with Pay Policy found in Section J of the Faculty and Staff Manual. The time period as stated in (b) (2) under "Educational Leave with Pay" states: ...will not exceed a period of 60 days a calendar years." To conform to the North Carolina Administrative Code, the time period will read:shall not exceed one semester per fiscal year." Debra Baker made a motion to change the policy in the Faculty and Staff Manual to agree with the Administrative Code as stated above. Wesley Beddard seconded the motion, and the Council voted unanimous consent.

IV. Progress Reports

Judy Jennette complimented the <u>Washington Daily News</u> for its coverage of College items; she has a story for graduation at the WDN ready for publication. Ms. Jennette stated she welcomes ideas for use for the weekly radio show in Plymouth. Ruth and Leland Penrod have expressed a desire to set up a Practical Nursing Scholarship of \$850 every semester (the Linda Louise Penrod Memorial). Ms. Jennette stated that the Foundation audit will have a correction. The summer festival is June 10-11, and the College will have a joint booth. Ambassadors have been selected for 2005-2006; those selected are Patrick Box, Marti Curtis, Jolinda Cooper, Chanel Myers, Carrie Peed, and Caro Sheppard. Conoley Williford and Susan R. Woolard will also continue to represent the College as ambassadors.

Carrie Peed, SGA Representative, stated that she had nothing to report at this time.

Debra Baker gave an update on Faculty Senate elections. Officers for Year 2005 are as follows: Judith Meyer, President; Bryan Oesterreich, Vice-President; Laura Gipson, Secretary, and Ted Clayton, Treasurer. Chairs of the standing committees are as follows: Dixon Boyles, Instructional Affairs; Lori McNiel, Student Affairs; and Surry Everett, Faculty Affairs. Ms. Baker commended Ted Clayton's selection as Faculty Person of the Year. Ms. Baker stated that she had enjoyed her tenure as Faculty Senate President and she thanked the Council for its support during her terms in office.

In Dorie Richter's absence, Almeta Woolard reminded the Council that long-range plans are due by tomorrow, the 26th. Ms. Woolard distributed the June, 2005 Grant Activity Report. She stated that the due date for the National Science Foundation (NSF) grant is June 3, 2005, and ECU has some issues in trying to complete its submission. Ms. Woolard reported on elections for the Staff Association. Officers for the Year 2005 are as follows: Kim Mullis, President; Sherry Stotesberry, Vice-President; Jo Woolard, Secretary; and Norma Crutchfield, Treasurer. Ms. Woolard commended everyone for their participation in yesterday's successful cookout, and she praised Rhunell Boyd on her selection as Staff Person of the Year.

Sandra Sauve' stated that Washington High School has already been booked for next year's graduation and she has received the contract. Ms. Sauve' and

Camille Richardson went to test high school students for next year; 32 versus 17 actually showed up. Ms. Sauve' indicated that she would like to do some orientation with Huskins and Dual Enrollment.

Wesley Beddard stated that Beaufort County Schools is supposed to give us a list of all their students eligible for articulation credit; Wesley will send a letter if we get that information. Mr. Beddard gave an update on his "chats with faculty" project. He stated that the response had been very good with the 9-month faculty and he was continuing to see all 12-month faculty. Mr. Beddard echoed Ms. Baker's earlier comments on the selection of Ted Clayton as the instructor of the year and he commended the committee and interview process in this selection. Mr. Beddard informed the Council that he is on the State Curriculum Review Committee and the Information Technology CIP goes to the committee on June 13. In conclusion, Mr. Beddard stated that summer school is moving along-so is the catalog, and Bebe Major is in-and-out due to CIS training.

Phillip Price stated that bids on insurance are due June 1. WIMCO indicated that Bldg. 11 is about 24% complete. John Farkas has submitted some furniture plans for Phillip's review and consideration. Mr. Price stated that payroll is completed, the Foundation Board Budget passed this morning, 5-25-05, and he is working on year-end.

Dr. McLawhorn advised the Council of the signing of a consortium agreement with Department of Corrections to provide in-service training for Division of Prison employees. This consortium is comprised of Hyde Correctional Institution, Tyrrell Prison Work Farm, and Bertie Correctional Institution. This agreement affects approximately 720 employees and includes 38 hours a year training. The Bertie unit is scheduled to open in February, 2006. Two new trustees have been appointed: Beaufort County Commissioners appointed Patricia Spencer and the Board of Education has selected Brad Potter. The Governor has not made his decision of the governor appointee as yet. A meeting was held on May 10 to discuss plans for expanding our nursing programs, both ADN and LPN. Dr. McLawhorn shared his Fiscal Year 2005-2006 major initiatives (goals) as a part of the long-range planning process (copy attached). October 7 is the date of the annual golf tournament.

The next meeting date is Wednesday, June 29, 2005 at 3:00 p.m. The meeting was then adjourned.

David McLawhorn, Chair	_