# Beaufort County Community College Faculty Senate Minutes

# August 31, 2004

## **Members Present**

Hardee, Caroline Albera, Emily Mills, Diane Debra Baker Hauser, Kav Judith Mever Huguelet, Tom Oesterreich, Bryan Bliley, Laura Leach, Becky Parker, Donna Carawan, Mark Dail, Robbie Lee, Carolyn, Pilson, Peggy Mike Davis Matson, Jim Smith, Bill Vasquez, Kathy Dunn, Donna Mattimoe, Tim Enecks, Dell McCotter, Jane Whitley, Grace Ann Freeman, Jarahnee McFadden, Sandria Winstead, Cindy McFadden, Brown Woolard, Kay Glover, Sherry, Gray, Suzanne

## Call to Order

Hagwood, Dell

D. Baker, president, called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. She introduced the 2004-2005 Faculty Senate Officers: Vice President, Judith Meyers, Treasurer, Suzanne Gray, Secretary, Mike Davis.

She recognized and thanked the 2003-2004 Senate officers: Vice President, Art Keehnle, Treasurer, Bobby Williams, Secretary, Caroline Hardee.

## **Minutes**

S. McFadden moved that the March 30, 2004 minutes be accepted. R. Dail seconded the motion. Minutes were approved.

## **Treasurer's Report**

S. Gray reported the current balance unchanged from March 30, 2004. The balance is \$628.29.

#### **Old Business**

B. Oesterreich was recognized as the 2003-2004 Faculty Member of the Year.

#### **New Business**

Faculty Senate Structure and Planning

D. Baker explained the Faculty Council's intent to address a variety of faculty issues and questions for 2004-2005. She explained that the scope of these issues and questions might require a significant commitment from all Faculty Senate members.

Faculty Senate Minutes Page 2 of 2 August 31, 2004

She explained that the Faculty Senate is the "voice" of the faculty and that the Senate's position on a variety of issues is critical to the dialogue of the college.

As a result of this focus, chairs of the three Faculty Senate Standing Committees need to be elected and committee members be selected.

J. Meyer disseminated and explained a questionnaire to solicit volunteers for the Standing Committees and for Campus-Wide Committees. The members of these committees will be announced at the September 14 meeting.

#### **Nominations**

The floor was opened for nominations for the chairs of the Instructional Affairs Committee, the Faculty Affairs Committee and the Student Affairs Committee

Dixon Boyles was nominated as chair of the Instructional Affairs Committee. J. McCotter moved that nominations be closed for this committee. G. Whitley seconded the motion. D. Boyles was elected by a voice vote.

Surry Everett was nominated as chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee. J. McCotter moved that nominations be closed for this committee. E. Albera seconded the motion. S. Everett was elected by a voice vote.

Art Keehnle was nominated as chair of the Student Affairs Committee. J. McCotter moved that nominations for this committee be closed. T. Mattimoe seconded the motion. A. Keehnle was elected by a voice vote.

#### **Explanations**

D. Baker explained her conversation with Wesley Beddard regarding emergency days and new salaries. After a short discussion the Faculty Senate agreed to e-mail questions regarding salary to D. Baker. She will contact W. Beddard for answers that can be emailed to the entire faculty.

#### September 14 Planning

D. Baker explained the need for Faculty Senate members to be prepared to present issues and questions on September 14 to be addressed by the Faculty Senate during 2004-2005.

#### Adjournment

D. Baker adjourned the meeting at 1:00 P.M.