Beaufort County Community College Faculty Senate Minutes

September 14, 2004

Members Present

Albera, Emily	Gipson, Laura	Mills, Diane
Baker, Debra	Hauser, Kay	Parker, Donna
Bliley, Laura	Huguelet, tom	Pilson, Peggy
Boyles, Dixon	Keehnle, Art Smith, Bill	
Buck, Joyce	Keen, Jackie Whitley, Gra	
Dail Robbie	Lee, Carolyn	Williams, Bobby
Dunn, Donna	Matson, Jim Winstead, Cin	
Enecks, Dell	McFadden, Brown	Woolard, Kay
Everett, Surry	McNiel, Lori	
Call to Order		

D. Baker, president, called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. She acknowledged new Faculty Senate members.

<u>Minutes</u>

J. Keen moved that the August 13, 2004 minutes be accepted. B. Smith seconded the motion. Minutes were approved.

Treasurer's Report

In the absence of S. Gray, D. Baker explained the treasurer's report. The current balance is \$662.95.

New Business

Faculty Senate Standing Committees/Campus Wide Committees

J. Meyer reviewed committee responsibilities and faculty appointments for 2004 – 2005. Committee chairs and members are attached.

D. Baker discussed the need for faculty to volunteer to serve as alternates for the Student Appeals process.

Goal Setting Procedures for Faculty Senate Standing Committees

D. Baker explained the need for the Senate to identify issues to be addressed during 2004-2005 by those standing committees: Faculty Affairs, Instructional Affairs, and Student Affairs.

Faculty Senate Minutes Page 2 of 2 August 24, 2004

During the meeting, Senate members were to state and explain an issue. That issue would be tentatively assigned to one of the three committees. Final decisions about committee responsibility would be made by the Faculty Council and the issues would be ranked in a priority order. These decisions will be explained at the next Faculty Meeting.

The senate identified issues to be addressed by the three committees. They are as follows:

Faculty Affairs: Salary formulas and recalculation, nine month faculty preparation time, other salary funding sources, health concern, other benefits for faculty, i.e. vision plan, dental plan, other faculty incentives, graduation date/end of semester date, improved faculty morale.

Instructional Affairs: Calendar, instructor's conference, i.e. mandatory attendance, Sunday beginning date, hotel accommodations, compensation for professional membership, classroom technology needs, DSL compensation for on-line instructors. S

Student Affairs: New student and part-time instructors orientation, student email privacy issues, campus car-pool resources for students, child-care resources for students.

Adjournment

D. Baker adjourned the meeting at 1:00 P.M.

Faculty Senate Standing Committees 2004-2005

Faculty Affairs Committee: Surry Everett, Chair **Diane Mills** Sherry Glover Mark Carawan Judith Meyer Jarahnee Freeman

Student Affairs Committee: Art Keehnle. Chair Bryan Oesterreich Becky Leach Sandy McFadden Gregg Allinson

Dell Hagwood

Instructional Affairs Committee: Dixon Boyles, Chair Grace Ann Whitley Jane McCotter Laura Gipson Cindy Winstead

Campus-wide Committees (to be appointed by Faculty Senate) 2004-2005

<i>Admissions</i> Laura Bliley Neal Alligood	Lori McNiel Peggy Pilson	<i>Evaluation Systen</i> Jim Matson Whiti	
Financial Aid Committee		Mission Review Committee	
Lori McNiel	Suzanne Gray	Teresa Crozier	Chris Roscoe
Haywood Broome	Robbie Dail	Diane Mills	Carolyn Lee
Planning Council		Professional Development Committee	
Brown McFadden	Dell Enecks	Donna Dunn	Sandy McFadden
Student Appeals	<u>-</u>	Student Retention/Special Needs	
Becky Leach	Kay Woolard	Emily Albera	Donna Dunn
Alternates	-	Joyce Buck	Ted Clayton
Art Keehnle	Jackie Keen	-	

Please contact Judith Meyer if you are not listed and would like to serve on a committee or if you are listed above and you are unable to serve or would prefer a change.